Boards and Commissions

Opportunities abound for civic-minded individuals to participate in a number of community improvement efforts. Volunteers are welcome to work with the following City Boards and Commissions:

To get more information about openings on these Boards and Commission, please see our Volunteer Opportunities page.

The Personnel Appeals Board hears appeals from City employees in the non-exempt service who are not part of a collective bargaining agreement, who have been suspended, demoted in position or compensation or discharged.

The Personnel Appeals Board consists of three (3) members appointed by City Council for overlapping terms of three (3) years. The Director of Personnel, currently the City Manager, provides necessary staff assistance for the Board.

The Board of Zoning Appeals hears requests for variances (exceptions) from the Zoning Code in accordance with the procedures and standards for those exceptions. The Board of Zoning Appeals also hears appeals of determinations of City staff regarding the Zoning Code.

The Board of Zoning Appeals is composed of five (5) residents appointed by City Council for terms of four (4) years.



Chuck Childers, Chair 4/7/15 to 4/6/19
Jerry Richardson 4/7/15 to 4/6/19
Tim Schneider 4/7/15 to 4/6/19
Dan Teaford 4/7/17 to 4/6/21
Vacant (Pending Appointment) 4/7/17 to 4/6/21

The Planning Commission acts as the platting authority for the City reviewing the subdivision or combination of land for new and existing developments. In addition, the Planning Commission reviews development plans and makes recommendations to Council regarding land uses and design standards.

The Planning Commission consists of five (5) residents appointed by City Council and the Mayor as an Ex-Officio  member (non-voting).



Julie Denning, Chair

4/7/17 to 4/6/21

Rick Kaufhold

4/7/17 to 4/6/21

David Owens

4/7/15 to 4/6/19

Anthony Rodgers

4/7/15 to 4/6/19

Harold Vazquez

4/7/15 to 4/6/19

William R. Flaute, Mayor


The purpose of the Parks and Recreation Commission is to study, consider and recommend to the City Manager programs of recreation which will provide recreation opportunities for youths, seniors and adults and to study, consider, and recommend to the City Manager actions to provide adequate areas for recreation facilities while protecting the environment and preserving open space and the natural features of the community.

The Parks and Recreations Commission consists of seven (7) residents appointed by City Council. Each member serves three (3) year terms. The City Manager serves as a nonvoting member.

The purpose of the Health and Safety Commission is to study, consider and recommend to the City Manager programs, actions and activities relating to the enhancement of the public health, safety and environment of the City.

The Health and Safety Commission consists of seven (7) members appointed by Council. Each member serves three (3) year terms. The City Manager serves as a nonvoting member of the Commission.

The Board of Tax Appeal hears and decides petitions that seek relief from the strict interpretation of the tax code as it is applied by the Tax Administrator.

The Board hears all appeals relative to the enforcement of the Exterior Property Maintenance Code, and by a concurring vote of the majority of its members may reverse or affirm, wholly or partly, or may modify the decision appealed from, and will make such order or determination as in its opinion ought to be made. Failure to secure concurring votes shall be deemed a confirmation of the decision of the inspector.

Property Maintenance Appeals Board consists of the following members:
The Chair of the Board of Zoning Appeals,
The Chair of the Planning Commission,
The Fire Chief or designee,
The Director of Public Service, or designee,

An elector of the City of Riverside chosen by the Council who shall serve at the will of the Council for a two (2) year renewable term.

All applications will be forwarded to City Council.

Comments are closed.